Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Welcome back to Austen Promises!

Here is another excerpt from Lady Catherine Impedes.  I apologize that it’s so short. I’m lucky to have gotten this much done. I hope you enjoy it, despite the length. 😀

Did you know that if you pledge as little as $1 on my Patreon creator page, that you would have had access to this post a day early?

 

~~~***~~~

 

Compromised. Penelope rolled that word around in her mind. Though she was looking at the other ladies, who were leaning forward in their seats, eagerly dissecting Lydia’s tale and the fates of the gentleman and lady involved, Penelope’s mind was elsewhere. She understood what it was to be compromised. She enjoyed gossip as much as anyone else and had passed stories similar to Lydia’s on many times. She looked toward Mr. Collins again as that word bounced around her brain again. Compromised.

All at once, she knew exactly how to make it so that her father would force Mr. Collins to marry her. She would compromise him. She would have to think about how; she was not at all certain what would need to happen. But, happen it would, if she had anything to say about it.

Mr. Collins had no idea that he had become an object of admiration to anyone. He sat on the other end of the room from the ladies, with Mr. Bennet and Mr. Goulding, discussing the war and the Prince Regent. Collins did his best to ingratiate himself with Mr. Goulding, and Mr. Goulding, it appeared, was not averse to being fawned over.

~~~***~~~

I’d love to hear what you think! Please consider leaving me a comment! 🙂

Amazon     NOOK     KOBO     Apple

CreateSpace Store     My Gumroad Store     Join my mailing list

Find me at Austen Authors     My Patreon Page

 

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

