Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Welcome back to Austen Promises!

Here is another 305 words from Lady Catherine Impedes.  😀

Did you know that if you pledge as little as $1 on my Patreon creator page, that you would have had access to a longer version of this post, a day early?

 

~~~***~~~

Once in the carriage and on the way back to Haye Park, Penelope spoke to her parents about Mr. Collins.

“Well, my child, did you enjoy our visit today? You were rather quiet; I was not certain how you fared.”

“I did enjoy it, Mama. I liked it very well. I liked Mr. Collins very well! He would make a fine husband, would he not?”

“I suppose he would.” Mrs. Goulding turned to her husband. “What say you, my dear?”

“Mr. Collins has an excellent living, and will one day be master of Longbourn. A young lady could do far worse for herself.”

“This is true, but I cannot think that decisions that affect a lifetime should be made after only one afternoon in the gentleman’s company. What of his character? I do not want my girl given to a man who drinks or gambles, or who might beat her.”

“I did not say that she should marry him immediately, Mrs. Goulding. I merely agreed with our daughter that he is a good prospect.”

“He will not marry me on his own, Papa. You must force him.”

Mr. Goudling chuckled. “Force him? I cannot do that. He is a grown man, not a child.”

“I will compromise him and then you shall make him marry me.”

“Penelope, that is nonsensical.”

Mrs. Goulding intervened in what was sure to turn into an argument. “Penelope, dear, why do you not display your interest and see if Mr. Collins proposes on his own? You remember what I taught you about securing a gentleman, do you not?”

“I must be agreeable and modest.”

“Yes, and you must compliment him. A gentleman likes to know that he is admired. They have fragile egos and must be lifted up, lest they become resentful and angry. Is this not so, Mr. Goulding?”

 

~~~***~~~

I’d love to hear what you think! Please consider leaving me a comment! 🙂

Amazon     NOOK     KOBO     Apple

CreateSpace Store     My Gumroad Store     Join my mailing list

Find me at Austen Authors     My Patreon Page

 

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

