Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Welcome back to Austen Promises!

Here is an excerpt of Chapter 2. The story is coming along, but at this point, it’s a struggle. I know it’s good…I just can’t seem to get it out at a pace that pleases me…and will allow me to publish when I need to. 😦 I have gone through a slog like this during each of the last couple books; I’m wondering if this is a normal writer thing or just one of my oddities. 😉

This is a rough draft. My Patreon patrons will soon help me fill in the blanks by naming characters, so don’t worry that I forgot to fill something in. For a pledge of $5 per month, you, too, can help me name characters, as well as getting a free e-book copy of every new release. For a pledge of as little as $1 per month, you could get the full chapter (rather than this short excerpt) and get it a couple days early.

~~~***~~~

The following afternoon afforded Caroline the chance to meet Elizabeth’s father, and two of her sisters. It was immediately apparent that Charles was smitten with the eldest of the Bennets, Jane. It was equally obvious that the family was not as high as they should be for Darcy to have aligned himself with them. Cynically, Caroline wondered just how Elizabeth Darcy got her husband to propose. She attempted to draw the younger of the sisters, Mary, into conversation, in order to worm out of her information about the circumstances of the Bennet family. Unfortunately for Caroline, Miss Mary found her manner to be arrogant and her questions impertinent and intrusive, and soon stopped replying altogether.

Once the Bennets had made their farewells, Caroline, uncaring that she had an audience, began to interrogate her brother about Jane. Charles, though, was not having any of it, and before she knew it, had whisked her out of the drawing room and down the hall to his study.

Allowing his sister to enter first, then locking the door behind him, Charles did not wait for her to sit before he began to speak. “Caroline, I do not know why you have come to Netherfield, but I must warn you now that my business is my own and I am not required to share it with you. You cannot come to someone’s home, uninvited, and expect the running of the place and all its secrets to be handed to you.”

Bingley strode to his desk, picking up a letter that had come in the morning mail. “I received this from Aunt _____. She says that you accepted an offer of marriage, and then disappeared in the night without so much as a note telling her where you had gone. Why?”

“If I have no right to know your business, then you have no right to know mine,” Caroline sniffed, raising her nose in the air and looking past her brother’s head.

“There is where you are wrong, Sister dear. I hold your purse strings. I can supplement your funds, and I can restrict them. And, your betrothed must come to me for permission to marry you, as well as gaining my approval for your marriage settlement. I have every right to know what is happening with you.”

~~~***~~~

I’d love to hear what you think! Please consider leaving me a comment! 🙂

Amazon     NOOK     KOBO     Apple

CreateSpace Store     My Gumroad Store     Join my mailing list

Find me at Austen Authors     My Patreon Page

 

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

