Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Welcome back to Austen Promises!

What I have for you today is a random scene from Caroline’s Censure. This will be the last excerpt from this story. I will leave all the excerpts up for a week, but they will come down (except for #1) very soon. I expect to have this book published within the week; it is currently out for editing but is due back within a day or two, and everything is ready to go once I get the edits finished.

I will begin posting the story in its entirety on DarcyandLizzy tomorrow (Monday.)

I am uncertain what I will post here starting next week. I know what I am planning to publish next, but that might or might not be what I share. We’ll see what happens. 😀

I hope you have enjoyed these little glimpses into my new book!

~~~***~~~

“No,” Darcy murmured, “I expect not.” He took a moment to reflect and then continued his questioning. “Has my cousin spoken to you directly, about … anything?”

“No, Mr. Darcy. I have found it both strange and relieving that she seems to not see me, or recognize me. I could be mistaken; I only know that she does not speak to either me or my wife, and says very little to her mother.”

Darcy nodded again. “Thank you.” He lapsed once more into contemplation, and Collins, seeing that he had lost the gentleman’s attention, turned his own toward the rest of the party.

~~~***~~~

After the rector and his wife left Netherfield, Darcy took his to their chambers for a nap. He insisted she was tired and she was too enamored of what she suspected would happen to object overmuch.

Once they had undressed and settled under the covers, Darcy asked her opinion of Mr. Collins’ news regarding Anne.

“I am happy she is subdued. It sounded to me as though your uncle’s letters, as well of those from Lady Catherine, were reasonably accurate.”

“It does seem as though they had the right of it. I had been concerned that they were hiding the facts, but if Collins is correct, he provides evidence to support their claims.”

“Will you still avoid Rosings?”

“Until I am assured that Anne has let go of her obsession, yes. I have no wish to stir whatever fantasies she may still have, nor do I wish to rile her temper towards you.”

“I understand; to be honest, I am glad to hear it.  I feel an uneasiness about the situation myself. I will not rule out a visit in the future, though.”

“No, nor I.” Darcy shifted his position, rising up on his elbow to look down at his wife. “Enough conversation, Mrs. Darcy. I have a better use for your lips.”

With those words, Darcy captured her mouth with his. The couple was not seen by the rest of the party before dinner was announced.

~~~***~~~

I’d love to hear what you think! Please consider leaving me a comment! 🙂

Amazon     NOOK     KOBO     Apple

CreateSpace Store     My Gumroad Store     Join my mailing list

Find me at Austen Authors     My Patreon Page

 

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

